Yaya Touré is Best Penalty Taker in Premier League History

Yaya Touré gave Manchester City the lead on their way to a 3-0 win at Hull City on Boxing Day by way of a penalty.

The Ivorian coolly converted the spot kick following Andy Robertson’s foul on Raheem Sterling in the final 20 minutes at the KCOM Stadium on Boxing Day.

It was the 10th penalty kick that Touré has taken in his Premier League career and he has converted them all.

The 6’2″ midfielder is now the only player in Premier League history to have a 100% success rate from the penalty spot having taken a minimum of 10 penalties.

Player Penalties Taken/Scored Conversion Rate
Yaya Touré 10/10 100%
Matt Le Tissier 26/25 96%
Danny Murphy 19/18 95%
James Beattie 17/16 94%
Julian Dicks 16/15 94%
Thierry Henry 25/23 92%
Eden Hazard 12/11 92%
Gary Speed 11/10 91%
Franck Leboeuf 11/10 91%
James Milner 11/10 91%
Peter Beardsley 20/18 90%
Mikel Arteta 19/17 89%
Leighton Baines 19/17 89%

Matt Le Tissier famously missed only one penalty during his Premier League career with Southampton – denied only by Nottingham Forest’s Mark Crossley in his 26 attempts.

The list has a number of Englishmen with Danny Murphy, James Beattie and Julian Dicks completing the top five.

Of players currently plying their trade in the top flight, Eden Hazard and Leighton Baines both make the list.